What keeps me trying to understand all this?

Not just for linguists and logophiles (word lovers)
The exploring, discovering and discussing of words, language & communication from different perspectives.

What keeps me trying to understand all this?

Postby raven » Thu Mar 15, 2012 3:30 pm

I am brand new to this whole concept of spirituality. For some reason, though it all seems beyond silly - wishfull thinking, "I-want-a-rainbow-shitting-unicorn," stupidity - I keep returning to it again and again, trying to understand whatever it is I am apparently missing.

Growing up religion was something I was taught to scoff at and as far as the major religions go - and ALL the people who claim to be adherants - I still do scoff, and likely always will.

Before you condem me for that attitude, I went so far as to learn ancient Greek, by transcribing the oldest remaining fragments (for Christianity - I didn't bother going that deep into the other major religions, as early investigations showed that they all did the same things) of the Bible, to compare what we have today to those parchment pieces - and they were wrote 400 years after Christ was crucified (if he was) - and was left disgusted by preachers everywhere. I am better read and knowledgable about their history than they are, and still they will argue with me - claim that my lack of faith is coloring my views. Sorry, but changing "No Judges; No judgement" into "Judge not lest ye be judged" is a blatant use of fear tactics to pacify the ignorant.

But I digress.

This idea of searching for truth within oneself makes a lot more sense, but I am having difficulty with many of the concepts expressed over and over again regardless of which particular "flavor" of new age spirituality one investigates.

Some examples: