Pigeons

Exploring psychology, sociology, social studies and experiments, applied psychology, education & pedagogy, personality psychology.

Pigeons

Postby Sabina » Fri Jan 15, 2010 3:37 am

Video of pigeon solving Wolfgang Köhler's famous "banana in the box" problem:

Video clip of B. F. Skinner's pigeons playing ping-pong:

"Whether You believe you can, or you can't, you are right."
Sabina

Personality: Ambivert
Favorite book: Confession by Tolstoy + Chess novel by Zweig
Favorite movie: Matrix + Baraka
Things I like: the arts, free thinkers, creativity, passion, intelligence, honesty
State of Mind or Tendency: Artistic
Kudos: 61

Re: Pigeons

Postby mirjana » Fri Jan 15, 2010 2:50 pm

Hi Sabina,

I love pigeons very much and have lot of beautiful experiences of the kind you presented here. Thank you for bringing them to me again.
When I was a student I was at the sea side with a group of friends and we stayed in one house where we rented an apartment. The day we came, I saw a pigeon trapped in a small box the size of a shoe box. I was shocked with an idea to keep the bird in such a small cage and I asked clarifications. They told me that that pigeon is attached to the house but does not care about the hygiene rules and that was the way to protect themselves. I explained that I can not stay in their house if the pigeon is imprisoned, and that we shall find another place. It was enough for them to tell me that I can open the box and let it free, which I did. From that moment on that pigeon and I developed such an emotional relationship, full of tenderness that I still today get chills when remembering that. He stayed from the very first moment on my shoulder although I didn´t show him any instructions.
Each morning he would come and knock on my window until I opened the window and let him inside. He would then come to my shoulder, cooing and putting his head around my ears. All the time I would also talk to him, caressing him.