Married Life

What should the ideal community or society be like?
Thoughts and ideas on making the utopian idea reality.

Re: Married Life

Postby GenerousGeorge » Tue Mar 09, 2010 2:08 pm

There is something to be said about the concept of average. When I was a young officer in the Army and was inspecting an Artillery Battery for speed and accuracy, I told the General that....."I did not understand why most of the Battery's could not shoot as fast as mine. =0/

He replied because you had one of the very fastest, you cannot expect all to be like yours. It is a bell shaped curve and the majority are average. That is just the way it is. They can all strive for the best, but that is not how it is in reality. =0o

The analogy is that while the average marriage is not perfect, the key to a decent marriage is "progress, not perfection".

Another factor is that all humour makes light of things 80S ...... no exceptions; if it is funny it is at someones expense. =0o To err is human, to be able to laugh at yourself is good. To be able to laugh with someone else seeing your own human foibles together is also good. I suspect there were some couples in the audience laughing together <3 seeing how foolish they acted sometimes, but being able to see the humour in it.

My marriage certainly falls in that category, we have plenty of differences. Christian vs Agnostic for one, how to raise the kids, toilet seat up or down etc. etc. etc. Of course communication is the key.......and willingness.....and then you can realize together what you were really "arguing" about, it's often silly and funny. 80S

Bottom line ....... no marriages are perfect or constantly happy or even mostly happy. Those that come closest to that are a result of willingess, communication and working at it. 80|

For those whom it comes naturally and who posess few if any of the character defects comedians make fun of in their marriages, they are fortunate and maybe even blessed. <3