Freedom

Metaphysical, spiritual, philosophical or mystical topics.
The forum for talks about the intangible universe, the human mind, and the soul.

Freedom

Postby TruthTrek » Thu Jan 14, 2010 6:53 pm

Hello everyone, this is my first post here and I would like to start out by saying, I really like this site and look forward to future discussions.(please excuse any spelling or grammical errors I may post, I am a software engineer not a english professor =0) )

What does freedom really mean? From as long as I can remember I was told that I am a free man. The longer I ponder that the more I come to realize, I am not a free man. For every law that is passed that prohibits you to do something it is a freedom taken away. I am not saying we should live in anarchy. There are a lot of laws that I fully agree with. You should not hurt anyone without consequenses. But what about those victimless laws that get passed for everyday. I feel that for ever victimless laws that gets passed that a little bit of freedom gets stripped from us. Where does the line of freedom end and tryanny begin?
TruthTrek

Personality: Ambivert
State of Mind or Tendency: Neutral
Kudos: 0

Re: Freedom

Postby Sabina » Thu Jan 14, 2010 7:44 pm

Hello TruthTrek and welcome to DS!

We've had a few variations of this topic that might be interesting to you.
- Good people & bad people
- Choices, to a certain degree
- Apathetic observer (in the Imagination Exercises forum), where Ryan's reply somehow poses the same problem you are asking here.

TruthTrek wrote:Where does the line of freedom end and tyranny begin?

It's a very good question, not only on the level of society, but also applied on smaller scale, in everyday life.

You used the term victimless laws, but that's only taken strictly in the sense of a life/death victim, right? Because otherwise you could say that there is victim for almost any "crime" committed, and then there are no victimless laws.